How Much is a Fishing License in Texas? [Check the Prices]

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas

Fishing without a license is against the law almost anywhere in the world, and Texas is not an exception. Luckily, getting it is a simple process that is also affordable when compared with other expenses related to fishing.

Luckily, it is easy to buy it, and you have numerous options to do so. That is especially important for tourists arriving to Texas for fishing purposes.

How much is a fishing license in Texas depends on what license category you want to purchase. Yearly freshwater license for non-residents, which is the most expensive option, costs $58, but these prices are subject to change. For saltwater, the same type of license costs $63.

Categories like seniors and residents have a discount and can buy licenses for a lot less. Of course, if you are a tourist and you are fishing for just one day, you have the option to buy daily license.

Same as anywhere else, you have to carry the license with you, and show it to the authorities if you are asked to do so. Otherwise, you are risking a fine.

Here I will tell you more about license prices in Texas and give you some tips about license purchase and more!

[FREE E-BOOK]

10 DEADLY SINS [MISTAKES] OF FISHING

Get our FREE fishing e-book where you will find my PRO Tips!

Free-Fishing-Ebook

How to Buy a Fishing License in Texas?

First of all, you can buy fishing license online. For me, that is the best option. It can be done from the comfort of your home, from anywhere in the world. If you are a traveller, this is the safest option. Many people travel during holidays and if the stores are closed, you won’t be able to get it on the spot. There is even an app that can help you, but I will mention the specifics a bit later.

This can be done on official government websites, where you have links for online purchase. It can be done with just a couple of clicks. There is even the option to order it via phone!

If you prefer buying in stores, you can do it some of the popular chains like Walmart. Bait stores and tackle stores also sell fishing licenses.

And lastly, you can buy it in Texas Park and Wildlife offices.

Do You Need a Fishing License to Fish in Texas? [Who?]

I think that you already know the answer, but in case you are still wondering do you need a fishing license in Texas, here is the answer.

Yes, you do! All non-residents need it, while residents and senior residents have a discount. However, there are some exceptions. Non-residents that are younger than 17 don’t need it, as well as Louisiana residents older than 65 that already have Louisiana license. Also, Oklahoma residents have the same exemption if older than 65.

Local seniors born before year 1931 can fish without it. And the last exempted category are people with mental disability under a supervision of a licensed angler who is a family member, or a medical professional.

Of course, to prove that you are old enough or have a license from exempted states, you have to show a valid document like a driver’s license that proves it. Actually, if you have special category licences like senior, data on it must be the same as on official document.

It is also important to mention that license if mandatory for all people participating in fishing. If you are just helping someone learn how to fish (like your kids), you still need a license, even if you are not the one with the rod in your hands.

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas - Walmart

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas?

Money is usually the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear about buying a license, so here are some numbers. How much is a fishing license in Texas depends on a category, so I listed the prices accordingly.

- Fishing License in Texas for Seniors

Seniors are required to buy a license if they were born after January 1st 1931. Anyone that is 65 or older, but also a resident, can buy a license on a reduced price. As a senior, for a yearly freshwater license you will pay just $12. For saltwater, you will pay just a bit more, as it costs $17.

Of course, this is valid for residents only, and non-residents no matter the age, have to pay a full price.

- Fishing License in Texas for Veterans

Veterans and active military personnel frequently have various discounts, and it is the same for fishing license in Texas.

As a “regular” veteran, you are not eligible for discount and you have to pay full prices, but disabled veterans can get a free license, both residents and non-residents. Your disability needs to be rated 50% or more, and you must have legal documents to prove it. Such license can be obtained only in person, not online.

Although the license if free, don’t confuse it with a term “no license required” as for children. You need a license, but you don’t have to pay for it.

- Fishing License in Texas for Military

Military is another special category. Of course, it is only for active military personnel, and it is only for residents or those serving in Texas for at least 6 months prior to the purchase.

It is available only in person, not online, and official documents must be presented that prove your military background.

If you are in this category, both freshwater and saltwater licences are free for you.

Here you can also check more about Do You [Really] Need a Fishing License to Fish in the Ocean?

- Fishing License in Texas for Kids

Kids and youth younger than 17, both residents and non-residents, are exempted from having a license. If you are almost 17, you should have a valid ID to prove your age if requested by authorities. Of course, a toddler does not need any ID.

If you are a parent supervising your child and participating in his/hers fishing adventures, you must have a license.

Although kids are exempted, they still need to obey all the local rules and regulations including limits and allowed methods of fishing.

- Fishing License in Texas for Non Resident

And lastly, non-resident fishing license in Texas. Non-residents have to pay highest prices. As already mentioned, for saltwater that is $63, and for freshwater that is $58.

If that seems a bit much for a day of fishing, you have another great option, and that is daily license. It is available for non-residents, and it cost $16. It is valid for all waters.

There are a few more different kinds of licences, and those are all-water senior ($22), all-water non-resident ($68), all-water resident ($40), and year from purchase ($47). The last one is interesting because it is valid one year from date of purchase, and not for calendar year.

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas - Non Resident

How Much is a Lifetime Fishing License in Texas?

Lifetime fishing license is excellent option for someone who spends a lot of time on the water. To get it, you will have to download a form, fill it, and submit to authorities. Here is a link with a bit more details https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/licenses/lifetime-licenses. After that, you must contact the authorities by telephone, and after that they will be reviewed by local law enforcement.

Only residents can get it, and it is not cheap. For lifetime fishing, you will have to pay $1000. When I think about it, that would be a wonderful present for a passionate angler who already has everything else.

Now you know how much is a lifetime fishing license in Texas and how to get it.

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas at Walmart or Academy?

Fishing license Texas online is available for the majority of categories, but license can also be bought in popular and well-known stores.

Do you know how much is a fishing license in Texas at Walmart, and are prices any different than online? The answer is no, they are not different, at least at the time of writing this article. When you compare prices on official websites and in Walmart (at the time of writing this article), they are exactly the same. Of course, you should check yourself before purchase, as prices can be changed.

And how much is a fishing license in Texas at Academy? All Academy sports and outdoor stores sell fishing licences in Texas, and prices are the same as everywhere else.

This is why I like to buy online, because I don’t get any benefits from going to the store. But, if you like it, go for it. However, even if some stores are open all day, some sell permits only during office hours, so make sure to check the specific store in your area.

Who Can Get a Free Fishing License in Texas?

I already mentioned this, but I will say it again as sometimes it is a part of many confusions. No license required and free licence are two different things!

Kids don’t need a license, and it is not required. The same goes for those born before 1931.

Disabled veterans (residents and non-residents) and active military (residents) are eligible for free license. When you present legal documents proving that you are either disabled veteran or military, you will get the same license as full-paying anglers, but you will get it for free.

You still have to carry the license with you while fishing, and have a valid ID and legal documents that prove the accuracy of info stated on the license. Local authorities can request to see all of it.

Both exempted anglers and those with free licences must obey all rules and regulations related to fishing at all times.

How Much is a Fishing License in Texas - Buying

BONUS: Get Texas Fishing License APP

Texas fishing license app is a great thing to have!

This app has some excellent features. First of all, you can buy or renew your license (with internet access and only those categories that can be purchased online).

You can access all rules and regulations about fishing methods and limits. The app also provides info about fishing locations, news from authorities, and even some exceptions for bag limits that are valid in some areas!

You can store your license in the app, and show it to the authorities if necessary. Only hunting stamps and tags must be kept in physical form, not virtual.

This app is free (check more free apss >>> here) and available for download for both apple and android devices.

Here is a link in case you want to check it out https://tpwd.texas.gov/regulations/outdoor-annual/app/.

Conclusion

Fishing license in Texas can be bought easily, and it is quite affordable. Money goes for fish conservation, and as an angler, you should care about that.

How much is a fishing license in Texas depends on license type. Residents and special categories of anglers can get discounts, so make sure to check official websites for detailed and up to date info.

It is good to know that in certain areas of state parks you can fish without a license, but make sure to check the details first! This is also true for private waters, but make sure that you are legally on the private property!

About Us

Slo-fishing - About Us

__________

I'm Sina, the guy behind Slo-fishing.si and eBook writer. This site is base camp for fishing enthusiasts from all over the world. I love fishing and want to share all my stories, knowledge and my experience with any and all potential anglers. Read more ...

Affiliate Disclaimer:

Slo-fishing is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon. We also participates in eBay Partner Network, FishingBooker, ClickBank and Teespring affiliate programs. We are compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies.